About Us

Guaymay Energy Alliance Credit Union formerly called Amoco Employees Credit Union

was founded in June 1975 by Employees of the Amoco Trinidad Oil Company (ATOC). Our first Office was located at ATOC’s Office at Galeota Point where the vast majority of its Employees were based. The Credit Union came into fruition as a way of “Saving Together to Help Each Other”. Its principal business was to provide loans to its Members and to divide the profits gained annually by means of dividends.

We extended our bond outside of the Company to include residents of the Guayaguayare/Mayaro area and environs in 1999, and this time Amoco was acquired by ‘BPTT” and our name was changed to Guaymay Alliance Credit Union Society Limited. In April 2015, however, the Membership approved the new and current name used by the Credit Union; “Guaymay Energy Alliance Credit Union Cooperative Society Limited”.

Guaymay Energy Alliance Credit Union is managed by a Volunteer Board of Directors and Committees who are elected by the members of the Credit Union and has a staff that administers the day-to-day activities of the organisation. Each member has an equal say in the operations of the Credit Union, irrespective of how much savings he or she owns.

Guaymay Energy Alliance Credit Union acquired its new headquarters in 2017 and is now located at #3 Peter Hill Road, Mayaro, near to the Mayaro Police Station. We recently unveiled our new logo with a new concept aimed at improving the quality of service and uniqueness, marking another significant milestone throughout the years.

We Celebrate 45 Years Anniversary 1975-2020
Transforming through Technology!

Our Vision

Guaymay Energy Alliance Credit Union is

“To be recognized as the premier Credit Union of the Energy Sector and communities in which we operate.”

Our Pillars

Customer Focus
People Development
Financial Efficiency


Guaymay Energy Alliance Credit Union is a National Credit Union Award Winner and has been awarded the following titles by the Credit Union League of Trinidad & Tobago which is the governing body of all Credit Unions in recognition of the following:

2003 Best Performing Credit Union, Large

2016 Best Financial [PEARLS] Performance, Large

2013 Most Outstanding Credit Union

2016 Most Improved Financial Credit Union

2013 Best Financial [PEARLS] Performance, Medium

2016 Most Improved Financial Credit Union

2014 Most Outstanding Credit Union

2017 Most Improved Financial Credit Union

2014 Best Financial [PEARLS] Performance, Medium

2018 Best Financial [PEARLS] Performance, Large

2015 Best Financial [PEARLS] Performance, Large